Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

In response to R. Ortez

+5
Admin
KevinNSaisi
xmashen
Timeout
911Dispatcher
9 posters

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

In response to R. Ortez Empty In response to R. Ortez

Post by 911Dispatcher Sun Oct 12, 2008 2:29 pm

I debated for a long time in voicing my opinion on the
controversy in Rumford between some of the citizens, a few selectman, a publication
and the Fire and Police Department. With
the last letter written by R Ortez in the Rumford Reporter I could no longer
remain silent. I grew up in the Rumford
area, actually Peru
if you want specifics, and am disappointed to see the direction the area is
headed in. My father was very involved
in the community and surrounding communities including Rumford. I have fond memories of the small towns in Maine. From the close communities, to knowing your
neighbors, and enjoying life a small town offers. When I graduated I moved from these small
towns in Maine to a similar small
town in Alaska. This is where I found my calling as a 911
dispatcher and love for criminal justice.
Most think of dispatching as a job that saves lives. I would like to say right now that saving
lives is not what the job is about.
Actually saving lives is far and few between and if that were the sole
purpose of the job I would be sadly disappointed. A job in law enforcement is more about
helping people. I go to work everyday
knowing that every call I take I am helping someone. Whether it is a simple question about where a
road is located to giving CPR instructions over the phone, helping people is
why I love this profession. I can also
say honestly that most others in law enforcement are in the profession for the
same reason.

I take great offense to the letter that was written by R.
Ortez. I also take great offense to the
attitude and approach the Rumford Reporter has had towards this profession. I do understand their frustration with budget