Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Testimony of David S. Wakelin - former Chair of the Retirement System Board of Trustees

Go down

Testimony of David S. Wakelin - former Chair of the Retirement System Board of Trustees Empty Testimony of David S. Wakelin - former Chair of the Retirement System Board of Trustees

Post by T Wed Apr 06, 2011 9:38 pm

Testimony of David S. Wakelin

Wakelin is former Chair of the Retirement System Board of Trustees
Mr. Wakelin delivered his testimony before the Joint Standing Committee on Appropriations and Financial Affairs at the hearing on March 4, 2011

Senator Rosen, Representative Flood and Members of the Joint Standing Committee on Appropriations and Financial Affairs. My name is David S. Wakelin. I am a pension lawyer from South Portland, and I have spent the last 24 years building and protecting the Retirement System, first as a member of the so-called "Monks Commission" in 1987, and then as a member of the Retirement System Board of Trustees from 1988 to 2008, and Chair of that Board from 1993 to 2007. I appear today on behalf of Maine state employees and teachers.

I respectfully disagree with statements made to this Committee by the Governor and Treasurer Poliquin in two important respects: (1) Maine does not have a pension funding "crisis"; and (2) It is not necessary to substantially reduce participant and retiree benefits to address this problem. The State has a problem that has existed for 40-50 years, which has been responsibly addressed by Republican, Independent and Democratic Governors over the last 20 years. In 1987, the System was only 26% funded (assets of approximately $1.0 billion and liabilities over $4.0 billion). Now, the System is over 70% funded. The Unfunded Actuarial Liability (UAL) today is far less than it was in l987 in inflation-adjusted dollars.